Striding Through

Because a life well lived always finds the right pace

Last Exit Before Hopkinton

It’s been a longer time away from posting here than I expected but I’ve been busy on a lot of fronts. The biggest consumers of my time have been an increasingly awkward situation at work, which I won’t get into here, and my laserlike focus on training for Boston, which of course is what I will discuss. However, for now just a teaser, because I have one more final workout tonight to build my Boston resume, a 12-miler with the middle 10 at marathon pace, or what the Hansons plan calls “tempo.” After tonight’s run the taper phase finally begins; Hansons keeps the pedal to the metal a lot longer than other plans.

Regardless of how it goes tonight, I feel good about my preparation. It’s the first time I have ever tried the Hansons plan but I really feel strong right now. The last time I felt this good was in 2010 heading into Boston, and that’s where I set my current marathon PR.

I’ll lay it all out after tonight’s workout, but the bottom line is I like my chances of PR’ing for a second time in Beantown. If you’re interested in tracking me on Patriot’s Day, it’s bib #9712.

5 responses to “Last Exit Before Hopkinton

    • Meagan April 7, 2013 at 9:49 pm

      By the way, this is Megs from Cool Running/Kick Runners πŸ™‚

      • cmjhawk86 April 7, 2013 at 10:01 pm

        Thanks Megs! Sounds like you are getting ready for a big result in your next race too. Good luck!

    • Meagan April 13, 2013 at 6:47 pm

      Well I don’t necessarily have a time goal for Blue Ridge next weekend… more just a goal to survive the 2-3 mile climb up the mountain and the sharp 1.5 mile long descent down the other side! πŸ™‚

  1. Pingback: No typical Boston Marathon | Striding Through

Leave a Reply

