Striding Through

Because a life well lived always finds the right pace

Road to NYC, Ramping up in Week 3

I’m just about done with the third week of this marathon training cycle and this should be my strongest week yet in terms of overall mileage. Add in a midweek trail race and it definitely looks like a “power week” of running. There is one big hurdle to get over yet, however, and that’s an 18-miler tomorrow.

Done so far:

  • Monday easy progression run 6.4 miles
  • Tuesday 6 miles including 4.5 mile trail race
  • Wednesday double easy runs of 8 and 4 miles
  • Thursday hill repeats, total 6.9 miles

On tap for the rest of the week:

  • Friday 6-8 easy trail miles
  • Saturday long run of 18 miles
  • Sunday rest day (traveling for vacation)

About the race: there’s not much to say about it. It’s a DCRRC race I do just about every year, at Burke Lake where I frequently train. One loop around the lake is 4.5 miles. I ended up 17th overall and 3rd in the 40-49 age group, in 31:09. That’s 12 seconds slower than my result last year but the heat and the fact I trained through the race probably had something to do with that. I’m pretty certain my conditioning is much better than it was a year ago and that when I actually start tapering for some races I’ll see more optimal results.

If all plays out as planned it will be about a 53-55 mile week. I’ll be on vacation next week. While the running certainly won’t stop I expect the totals will be a little lower, but with lots of other “active” vacationing activities taking place. Then I’ll be ready to go roaring back into another big week heading towards Labor Day.

Leave a Reply

