Striding Through

Because a life well lived always finds the right pace

Time to race again…finally

The past few weeks have been a long, for me at least, break from racing. The last time I toed a starting line was on January 16, at the MLK 20k.

But that’s about to end. This Sunday I’ll be running the RRCA Club Challenge 10-Miler in Columbia MD. As in the past I’ll be racing for the DC Roadrunners, hoping to help us improve on last year’s 6th place team finish. This race will be the first of three critical benchmark races prior to Boston, which is now only eight weeks away!

I’ll also be looking to improve on my own performance last year, when I had what can only be called a rough day. I was sick to my stomach all morning and barely held everything together until I crossed the finish line, then not a second longer. At 67:32, I was almost a minute off my PR, and deep enough in the pack to really drag down our team score. I felt badly about that, and definitely felt personally cheated that day. I love racing this distance and I know that I had a better race in me that day. So there’s an element of redemption at stake here. Whether I can get a new PR remains to be seen; I’ve been training hard lately and am only backing off a little bit this week — no taper for this race — so my legs will not be 100% fresh. But I’ll give it my best effort. If nothing else the highly competitive field should pull me along and ask me to dig deep when the time comes.

I’m just happy to get out and race again. It feels a bit like “breaking camp” before the baseball season starts. And that can only mean spring is around the corner!

Leave a Reply

