Striding Through

Because a life well lived always finds the right pace

Running for a new team this season

Team in Training Now that the calendar has flipped to 2010, the training for this spring’s target race, the Boston Marathon, is well underway, with several great workouts already in the books, not to mention two races. More on all that stuff in some posts still to be written.

For now, I just want to mention a decision I recently made, to represent Team in Training this winter/spring season. Normally I run for the DC Roadrunners, and still will for at least one race this season, the RRCA Club Challenge 10-Miler in Columbia, MD. Officially I’m running the CareFirst National Half Marathon for TNT, but I intend to proudly wear the trademark purple colors of TNT throughout the season.

I chose to join TNT now because a good friend of mine, Liz Rugaber, was recently diagnosed with leukemia. For me this seemed like a great way to both honor her fight and to help out the organization that is working to find a cure for blood cancers. I’m proud to be able to do this and really excited about the prospects of participating with TNT.

TNT athletes all have their own web pages and here’s mine. It tells my story in a little more detail and also offers a way for you to help out if you wish; I’ve committed to raise $1500 this season. So I certainly would encourage you to support this effort, but not so much for me, more for the thousands of people hardly different from you or me, who wage a courageous battle for life every day. From Liz I know of what they go through in an effort to get to remission, and I know that my hardest days of training or racing will never even compare to their struggles. If you can help out with a donation, no matter how big or small, please do and become a part of our team as it pushes towards the “finish line” of finding a cure. Thanks.

One response to “Running for a new team this season

  1. Pingback: New storm gathering over New York? « Striding Through

Leave a Reply

