Striding Through

Because a life well lived always finds the right pace

Black Hills 10k Trail results

It was a mixed bag on the results for me this morning at the Black Hill Trail 10k, sponsored by Montgomery Country RRC. Overall I ran 45:35, which is nowhere near my road/track PR (38:56) but good for only my 2nd trail race, and huge improvement over my trail debut in North Carolina 2 months ago. I’m not sure how big the field was (100 maybe?) but I was 17th overall…and the dreaded 4th place in the AG.

The race started on a road going uphill so I opted to stay slow for a while and ease into it. Still I was around 15th heading into the woods. Then followed a couple miles of quick rolling hills. I came into the water stop at 5k about mid-22s, still feeling fairly fresh, hoping to make a strong push late. At this point the trail started getting quite rocky which made footing a little tricky but I held my position at 17th. With about 1.5 to go I decided it was time to make my move. I caught and passed the guy ahead of me and then started slicing into the lead of the next guy. Unfortunately that was poor planning on my part because next thing I know we’re back on pavement scaling a massive hill; it had to be at least 12% and went on for about a half-mile. Suffice to say I was toast after that, faded badly and got caught from behind by another guy.

With better tactics I probably would have been top 15. Oh well.

For a club race and a first-time course this was pretty well organized. I haven’t done a MCRRC club race before but as a DC Roadrunners Club member I came away impressed. The course was well marked and there were plenty of course marshals out there to make sure nobody got lost (important when you’re tromping around the woods tired). I’d definitely run it again…and in the meantime will have to plan some trips up this way to train.

Now it’s time to focus on training over racing for a while. The big target for the fall is the half marathon at Philadelphia on 11/22. If everything holds up for I should be in for a great result that day. Between now and then increasing endurance will be a priority. On tap next weekend – probably a 20 miler.

Leave a Reply

