Striding Through

Because a life well lived always finds the right pace

race report – Great Pumpkin 5k 10/10

I had a pretty good day at this race, a nice way to finish out the fall 5k races.

I got there with lots of time to warm up, then had even more time when they decided to delay the start by 15 minutes. It was a pretty large field for a 1st time race with about 1400 runners. Luckily I was able to get myself ensconced in about the third or fourth row of the start corral.

Off we went and I had to shed a lot of slower people early to get to the position I wanted. But I also didn’t want to go too crazy. First mile in 5:55. In Mile 2 we hit a long straightaway with a nasty headwind (plus it was starting to rain a bit). Still I didn’t lose much here as I hit 6:06 for the split. But at that point the lack of any recent long runs really got me. I did the last 1.1 in 7:18 and just focused on trying to hold what I knew was going to be a pretty good AG finish. Sure enough it was.

19:22
26th OA
25th Male
2nd in 45-49 AG

DC Mayor Adrian Fenty was supposed to run this race. We even talked about it last week after the Army Ten Miler. But he didn’t make it. Too bad, I was ready for him. 😉

That makes 3 straight 5Ks where I’ve won some hardware. Well, OK the one a couple of weeks ago was actually a running shoe store gift cert. Still it’s a nice roll to be on and I’ve seen the times drop from 19:43 back in August when I just coming off injury to where I am now. That’s probably the last 5k of the season for me, and if it is that’s not a bad place to jump off for 2010.

My only regret – not being able to stick around for the Oktoberfest afterwards! That would have been fun.

Next race – something called the Black Hills Trail 10k race, in Germantown, MD. I doubt it will be anything like the trail 10k I ran back in August but it should be challenging. I focused on tempo trail running last night in anticipation.

Leave a Reply

